the common good american spirit awards

The American Spirit Awards were created to honor the remarkable individuals who have contributed compassionately to the betterment of our nation and our democracy. They highlight individuals in the arts, public service, activism, and thought leadership, just to name a few.


Our 2019 Awardees:

List of Previous Awardees:


Kerry Kennedy - Citizen Activism & Tribute to Robert F. Kennedy 

Fareed Zakaria - Thought Leadership


Secretary John Kerry - Distinguished Public Service

Senator John McCain - Distinguished Public Service

Teresa Shook - Citizen Activism


Congressman John Lewis - Distinguished Public Service

Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy - Activism in the Arts

General (Ret.) David Petraeus -  Distinguished Public Service

Brandon Stanton - Citizen Activism


Annie Clark and Andrea Pino - Citizen Activism

William Pope.L - Activism in the Arts

Judge Jed Rakoff - Distinguished Public Service

Bob Woodruff - Citizen Activism


Lily Ledbetter - Citizen Activism

Arnon Milchan - Activism in the Arts 

Jose Antonio Vargas - Citizen Activism


Nicole Hockley - Citizen Activism

David Gergen - Distinguished Public Service 

Edith Windsor - Citizen Activism


Ruth Gruber - Citizen Activism

Henry Chalfant and Tony Silver - Freedom of Expression in the Arts